FAH Hospital Policy Blog

Perspectives on health policy affecting America's hospitals and the patients we serve.

Quality & Safety | FAH Policy Blog Team

FAH President and CEO Joins AHRQ’s National Advisory Council

Today, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) announced eight new members joining its National Advisory Council, including FAH President and CEO Chip Kahn.

AHRQ’s National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality is comprised of private-sector health care leaders who advise the agency’s research into improving the quality, outcomes and cost-effectiveness of clinical practice. Chip Kahn will join the Council at its next meeting – July 24, 2019.

“It is gratifying to join the AHRQ’s National Advisory Council, which advises an agency so critical to patients and the quality and performance of Americans’ health care. AHRQ has always facilitated and disseminated important clinical and health services research central to understanding how best to finance and deliver care in America.”

It is noteworthy that Mr. Kahn, as a House Ways and Means Committee Minority Health Counsel 30 years ago, contributed to the drafting of the law that authorized the original AHRQ.

The other seven new members of the Council are:

Gregory L. Alexander, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN, professor,
Sinclair School of Nursing, University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri.
Peter J. Embi, M.D., M.S., FACP, FACMI, president and chief executive officer,
Regenstrief Institute, Indianapolis, Indiana.
Christine A. Goeschel, Sc.D., M.P.A., M.P.S., R.N., FAAN, assistant vice president,
MedStar Institute for Quality and Safety, and director, Center for Improving Diagnosis in Healthcare, MedStar Health, Washington, D.C.
Rahul Gupta, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A., FACP, senior vice president and chief medical and health officer,
March of Dimes, Arlington, Virginia.
George Kerwin, M.B.A., president and chief executive officer (Retired),
Bellin Health, Green Bay, Wisconsin.
Edmondo J. Robinson, M.D., M.B.A., M.S., chief transformation officer, senior vice president, Consumerism, senior vice president and executive director,
Christiana Care-Wilmington, Wilmington, Delaware.
Yanling Yu, Ph.D., president, Washington Advocates for Patient Safety, Seattle, Washington.


For more information on the National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality click here.